Down by the River

Down by the river
I wrote all my tunes
The gin in my liver
It rose me so blue

Up grew my daughter
She soaked up my wounds
Fetched eggs and water
While I slept in the dunes
While I slept in the dunes

I wasn’t there
Now I’ve come to miss you
Never combed your hair
Never came to kiss you

Down by the river
I loved you, I did
Wide eyed mother
Just wanted a kid

Up grew my daughter
With a ghost in her house
Deserved my heart
Not the sound of guitars
Not the sound of guitars

I wasn’t there
Now I’ve come to miss you
Never combed your hair
Never came to kiss you

All that I’ve missed
Down by the river
All that I’ve missed
Down by the river.

Leave a Reply

